WEC 6 Hours of Spa
4th to 6th May 2017
The 2017 6 Hours of Spa saw Toyota Gazoo Racing secure one-two finishes in LMP1. Outright honours went to the no.8 Toyota TS050 - Hybrid of Sébastien Buemi, Anthony Davidson and Kazuki Nakajima which crossed the finish line a handful of seconds clear of the no.7 car of Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi. The Japanese team had a third prototype in Belgium for Stéphane Sarrazin, Yuji Kunimoto and Nicolas Lapierre who ended up fifth after running a low-downforce aero package. Third past the flag at Spa-Francorchamps was the no.2 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Timo Bernhard, Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley.

Friday's qualifying was topped by the no.1 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Neel Jani, André Lotterer and Nick Tandy which got away to a cean start but was unable to prevent the no.8 and no.7 Toyota TS050 - Hybrids from easing ahead in the course of the opening hour. With two hours remaining, Porsche took advantage of a Full Course Yellow to recover top spot after a nicely-timed refuelling stop for Brendon Hartley. The German failed to benefit from this move, however, when a collision between the New Zealander and an Alpine A470 LMP2 runner forced him to pit for a splitter replacement.

Triple of the Oreca 07's in LMP2, with the G-Drive Racing no.26 of Roman Rusinov, Alex Lynn and Pierre Thiriet which won before the Vaillante Rebellion no.31 of Bruno Senna, Nicolas Prost and Julien Canal, and the Oreca no.38 Jackie Chan DC Racing of Ho Pin Tung, Oliver Jarvis and Thomas Laurent.

In LMGTE Pro, Ferrari dominated both qualifying and the race with AF Corse's no.71 488 GTE of Davide Rigon and Sam Bird which came out on top after a virile duel with the no.51 sister car of James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi. Helped by a flawless strategy, the Italian machines succeeded in pulling gradually clear of Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK's Ford GT's.

Aston Martin won newless the LMGTE Am category with the Vantage no.98 of Pedro Lamy, Paul Dalla Lana and Matthias Lauda, which forestall the Porsche 911 RSR no.77 Dempsey-Proton of Matteo Cairoli, Christian Ried and Marvin Dienst, and the Clearwater Racing Ferrari 488 GTE of Matt Griffin, Keita Sawa and Weng Sun Mok.
Pos. No. Driver / Co-driver Car Team
1 8 Buemi / Davidson / Nakajima Toyota TS050 - Hybrid Toyota Gazoo Racing
2 7 Conway / Kobayashi Toyota TS050 - Hybrid Toyota Gazoo Racing
3 2 Bernhard / Bamber / Hartley Porsche 919 Hybrid Porsche LMP Team
4 1 Jani / Lotterer / Tandy Porsche 919 Hybrid Porsche LMP Team
5 9 Sarrazin / Kunimoto / Lapierre Toyota TS050 - Hybrid Toyota Gazoo Racing
6 4 Webb / Kraihamer / Rossiter Enso CLM P1/01 - Nismo Bykolles Racing Team
7 26 Rusinov / Thieriet / Lynn (1st LMP2) Oreca 07 - Gibson G-Drive Racing
8 31 Canal / Prost / Senna Oreca 07 - Gibson Vaillante Rebellion
9 38 Tung / Jarvis / Laurent Oreca 07 - Gibson Jackie Chan DC Racing
10 13 Beche / Heinemeier Hansson / Piquet Jr Oreca 07 - Gibson Vaillante Rebellion