Rallye de Wallonie
29th April to 1st May 2016
The 33rd edition of the Rally de Wallonie took place the weekend of May 1st under very difficult conditions related to weather. More then 40 crews have given up on the 109 crews at the start, including Kris Princen (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) and François Duval (Citroën DS3 R5), two of the favorites, that left Freddy Loix (Skoda Fabia R5) pick a fourth success this season and take a big step towards a fourth consecutive title!

The Rally de Wallonie presented this weekend the most beautiful plateau of the Belgian Rally Championship since the beginning of the season. But an awful weather had also been invited, which didn't fail to cause multiple twists. Starting with the very early withdrawal of Kris Princen, 2nd overall after his best time on SS3 before leaving barrels in the next stage. The race lost a tenor but also probably the championship.

Very verve on the slopes of the Citadel Friday evening, François Duval, who found the steering of a top car after 3 years, had not waited for the withdrawal to take the lead of the race with his Citroën DS3 R5. Position he conforted during the first two laps, flooded, from Saturday to increase his advantage to more than half a minute over Freddy Loix.
Divided between the desire to go for the win and the opportunity to take a real opinion on the title by playing positioned, Fast Freddy restarted the suspense in the last lap of the day by aligning three scratches to return to 22 seconds. Dudu was quick to react signing his seventh fastest time in Wartet before going out for the account in the last stage of the day.

Rich of 8 stages, the last leg of the Rally de Wallonie has hardly been eventful, except for the unfortunate retirement of Guillaume Dilley (Citroën DS3 R5) at midday (broken clutch while he was at relueling). After withdrawals of Kris Princen and François Duval on road outputs on Saturday, Freddy Loix setled for a single scratch in SS18 to slide toward the podium.
Behind the defending champion, and more than likely champion in 2016, took place an intense duel between Xavier Bouche and Vincent Verschueren, both driving a Skoda Fabia R5. They finally reached the finish line in that order, separated by 1"7, after realizing ex aequo the best time in the closing stage, Naninne. And this is another Skoda driver, but a Fabia WRC this one, which ranked 4th, Benoît Allart bringing his score to the triumph of the Czech brand.

The young drivers of the Belgian Junior Rally Championship lived three intense days on the occasion of the 33rd edition of the Rally de Wallonie. Because of the rain, the stages of the region of Namur were particularly slippery and difficult. Avoid errors was the first mission of the Juniors. After an excellent season last year, Polle Geusens confirmed by winning a stunning vctory after a lively duel with Guillaume De Ridder, who lost a minute following a technical problem. In Junior BRC, Anthony Dovifat was again the best deal. The DS driver increase his lead and looks set to give the title...

For the first time this season, the Juniors have left their mark on the category RC4, where we find the R2. References as Steven Dolfen, lacking knowledge of the course, and Manu Canal Roblès too soon forced to retire, let the best time to two Juniors: Guillaume De Ridder, came to take its marks on the tarmac for the next races of the French Peugeot 208 Rally Cup and Polle Geusens, who presented his new Ford Fiesta R2 EcoBoost. 3rd place in Junior returned to Sébastien Bedoret, who managed each time to significantly increase the pace in the second pass through the stages.
Pos. No. Driver / Co-driver Car Team
1 1 Loix / Gitsels Skoda Fabia R5 2C Compétition
2 8 Bouche / Fernandez Skoda Fabia R5 Racing Technologie
3 4 Verschueren / Hostens Skoda Fabia R5 Go-Drive Racing
4 21 Allart / Surson (1st RC1) Skoda Fabia WRC '06 Aldero Rallysport
5 9 Baugnet / Cuvelier Ford Fiesta R5 Team Floral
6 12 Fernémont / Maillen Ford Fiesta R5 Team Floral
7 26 Collard / Borlon Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X van den Heuvel Motorsport
8 35 Hermann / Maraite (1st NCM) Fiat Punto HGT Hermann Motorsport
9 13 Bouvy / Hottelet (1st RGT) Porsche 997 GT3 NSL Racing Team
10 5 Van Rompuy / Feys Citroën DS3 R5 VR Racing / Qvick Racing