Spa Six Hours
17th to 18th September 2016
An excellent vintage! Marked by a finally very stable weather, a dry track most of the time, the 2016 edition of the Spa Six Hours has met with gret succes, spectators as numerous as exciting responding to the invitation of the organizers of Roadbook, and also the BFOV, the Belgian Federation of Oldtimer Vehicules. What to fill the paddocks and parkings of the most beautiful track in the world with vehicules of yesterday and before.

From a sporting point of view, the undeniable attraction of the weekend was the Spa Six Hours Endurance race, which gives his name to the event. With no more then... 11 Ford GT40's at the 11 first places of the start grid, we expected a demonstration of this car that marked the history of sports car. The first hour of the race was marked by multiple incidents impying the car with the blue oval, with especially brake problems... seeing Gerhard Berger, ex-Formula 1 GP winner, in the tire wall at the turning of the Combes! At the end of the race, while the rain did their entrance at Francorchammps, the GT40 No.6 of the Americains Jason Wright and Michael Gans and the British Andy Wolfe won, the three drivers opening their counter at the palmares of the Ardennes classic. They were ahead of the GT40's of Wood-Stretton and Davies-Young-Newall, while Rob Huff, with Meins and Lillingston on the No.10 completed the top 5.

The best non Ford GT40 was the spectacular TVR Griffith of Whitaker-Reuben-O'Brien, 4th overall, while the Shelby Cobra of the Belgian Thierry de Latre de Bosqueau and José Close marked the sense, pointing a time at the 7th place before they had problems with the gearbox. The Jaguar E-Type of Eric Duthoit and the Frenchmen Grandidier and Wilhelm ended the race at the door of the top 20, hile the Marcos 1800 GT of Bordet-Richard, setting by Delahaye Racing, take a class podium, just some places before the Porsches 911 of Ceyssens-Michiels and Geebelen-Martens. As for the trio Blanpain-Janssens-Hinderyckx (Austin Healey 100M), other black-yellow-red crew, they take the victory in the category of cars from before 1962.
Pos. No. Driver / Co-driver Car Team
1 6 Wright / Gans / Wolfe Ford GT40  
2 5 Wood / Stretton Ford GT40  
3 7 Davies / Young / Newall Ford GT40  
4 46 Whitaker / Reuben / O'Brien (1st GTS12) TVR Griffith Nigel Reuben Racing
5 10 Meins / Lillingston / Huff Ford GT40  
6 89 Cottingham / Girardo / Hart Shelby Cobra  
7 17 Wakeman / Blakeney-Edwards / Hall / Hunt Jaguar E-Type  
8 4 Henderson / Henderson / Hancock Ford GT40  
9 1 Lynn / Haddon Ford GT40  
10 13 Wilson / Stirling / Cox (1st GTS10) Lotus Elan 26R